Sunday, May 6, 2007

Types Of Zebras

There are three types of zebra species: the plains zebra, the mountain Zebra and Grévy'ss zebra. The plains zebra is the most common type and has 12 subspecies living in much of southern and eastern Africa.

Plains zebra
Plains zebra
The mountain zebra lives in southwest Africa and tends to have a sleek coat with a white belly and narrower stripes than the plains Zebra.

Mountain zebra
Mountain zebra
Grévy's zebra is the largest type, with a long, narrow head, making it appear rather mule-like. Grévy's zebra is the rarest species, and is classified as endangered.

Grevy's zebras
Grevy's zebra
Can you tell much of a difference between the three species of zebras? It's OK, we really can't either ;-)

1 comment:

Alex said...

Hey, landed on your blog, nice stuff. I found a cool new tool for our blogs... It helps get latest news for our keywords directly on to our blog. I added it on mine. Worked like a charm.